WhatsApp photos and videos can now disappear after a single viewing
![]() WhatsApp said that it would soon let users send disappearing photos and videos and this week the feature will be rolling out to everybody. Anyone using the Facebook-owned messaging app can share a photo or video in “view once” mode, allowing a single viewing before the media in question goes poof. Media shared with “view once” selected will show up as opened after the intended audience takes a peek.The company notes that the new feature could be helpful for an array of needs that definitely aren’t sending nudes, like sharing a photo of some clothes you tried on or giving someone your wifi password. In the fine print, the company would like to remind you that just because the photos or video will vanish, that doesn’t prevent someone from taking a screenshot (and you won’t know if they do). Facebook says the new feature is a step to give users “even more control over their privacy,” a song it’s been singing since Mark Zuckerberg first declared a new “privacy-focused vision” for the company back in 2019. Facebook has made a few gestures toward letting people wrest control of their online privacy since then, streamlining audience controls on its core app and enabling disappearing messages in WhatsApp. ![]() |

Hundreds detained as student protests across France turn violent (video)
19010:12
Students protest and public sector workers strike ahead of French budget
322Yesterday, 21:25
French public sector workers strike over pay freeze ahead of 2027 budget (video)
332Yesterday, 13:43
The Parliament of Yemen supports the general mobilization against the advance of the Houthis
51428.09.2026, 22:49
Trump's AI meeting with tech CEOs to focus on finding balance, US House speaker says
47328.09.2026, 20:18
Netanyahu orders preparation of ICC case against Erdogan over Kurds, Hamas funding
59928.09.2026, 00:42

