Yerevan:   +5 °C
Today:   Friday, 21 February, 2020

The Best: FIFA published Puskas Award’s candidate list

Monday, 19 August, 2019, 21:35
The Best: FIFA published Puskas Award’s candidate list

Ten names have been published as candidates to win the FIFA Puskas Award as the voting has started in the official website of the football governing body.
The Best FIFA Awards has published the 10-person candidate list for the Puskas Award this year.

The goals up for consideration were scored between July 16, 2018, and July 19, 2019. It doesn’t matter the genre or professional league or competition of the scorer, all of them were eligible.

Football fans can start voting now on the FIFA official website until September 1st at midnight.

Matheus Cunha, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Lionel Messi, Ajara Nchout, Fabio Quagliarella, Juan Fernando Quintero, Amy Rodriguez, Billie Simpson, Andros Townsend, and Daniel Zsori have been elected as candidates.

The award has been up for grabs since 2009. Cristiano Ronaldo, then at Manchester United, won the first award for his goal against Porto in the UEFA Champions League.

In 2010 Hamit Altintop from Turkey won the big prize, while Neymar’s goal against Flamengo was selected the best in 2011.